

# SYNOPSIS CITY COUNCIL SPECIAL MEETING APRIL 11, 2017

CALL TO ORDER 6:20 p.m.

**ROLL CALL** Councilmembers Shryock and Vernola, and Vice Mayor Kelley

## **CONSENT CALENDAR**

Consent calendar items are considered routine matters which may be enacted by one motion and roll call vote. Any item may be removed from the consent calendar and considered separately by City Council. **APPROVED by a 3-0 vote.** 

1. **MEETING MINUTES –** City Council approved the minutes of the regular meeting of March 21, 2017.

## CERTIFICATION OF ELECTION AND SWEARING IN

 RESOLUTION NO. 17-16 – ELECTION RESULTS – City Council adopted Resolution No. 17-16, A RESOLUTION OF THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF NORWALK, CALIFORNIA, RECITING THE FACT OF THE GENERAL / SPECIAL MUNICIPAL ELECTION HELD ON MARCH 7, 2017, DECLARING THE RESULTS AND SUCH OTHER MATTERS AS PROVIDED BY LAW. APPROVED by a 3-0 vote.

**SWEARING IN OF NEWLY ELECTED COUNCILMEMBERS –** The City Clerk administered the Oath of Office to Tony Ayala, Jennifer Perez, and Margarita L. Rios.

3. CITY COUNCIL REORGANIZATION – Councilmember Luigi Vernola was selected to serve as Mayor and Councilmember Leonard Shryock was selected to serve as Vice Mayor for the coming year. APPROVED by a 5-0 vote. 825-08

## **APPOINTMENTS**

- 4. PLANNING COMMISSION APPOINTMENTS City Council appointed Kim Apodaca, Rosa Barragan, Scott Collins, and Linda Lopez to the Planning Commission. APPROVED by a 5-0 vote.
  825-08
- 5. NORWALK HOUSING AUTHORITY APPOINTMENTS City Council appointed Councilmembers Ayala, Perez, and Rios to the Authority and reappointed Tenant Commissioners De La Garza and Franklin. APPROVED by a 5-0 vote. 315-05-01
- 6. ADVISORY BODIES City Council made appointments to fill vacancies on the various City advisory bodies. David Ang and Josh Forsythe were appointed to the Community Promotion Commission. Marie Carter and Polly Haack were appointed to the Historical Heritage Commission. Teresa Yates was appointed to the International Friendship Commission. Thomas Golightly and Victor Juan were appointed to the Parks and Recreation Commission. Dora Sandoval was appointed to the Public Safety Commission. Leola Mooney and Luella Steele were appointed to the Senior Citizens Commission. Norma Amezcua, Jalna Boltz, Tiki Castillo, and Mary Stodola were appointed to the Social Services Commission. Sandra Drake and Joseph Yakovetic were appointed to the Art in Public Places Committee. APPROVED by a 5-0 vote.

7:19 p.m.

## <u>ADJOURNMENT</u>